Its distance from Thessaloniki is 117 km and 47 km from Polygiro.
It has: restaurants, hotels, camping, rooms to rent, post office,
O.T.E., police, doctors surgery, pharmacy, taxi, petrol station,
The area of Ag. Nikolao is inhabited from the prehistoric years.
On the rise <Vetrino>, south west of the village, traces
of a prehistoric settlement have been found, which remained till
the Hellenistic years. Also at the same time the seaside area
<Pirgos> north east of the village was also inhabited.
Today's village seems was created before the 14th century. In
Athos documents of 1300, it is mentioned that in the area was
a settlement by the name <Fournia>, which developed to today's
village. The villages verbal delivery mentions that Ag. Nikolaos
came to be from various small settlements of the area, to which
at some time migrants from Peloponnesus were added. That is how
the name <Maniates> which the neighboring villages sometimes
call the people of Ag. Nikolao came to be. In 1821 the village
was destroyed by the Turks.
-Popular architecture: from the 19th century a lot of houses are
still saved with characteristic sample of popular architecture.
The tradition of Agio Oros mentions that in Agio Nikolao were
very good skilled workmen. Characteristic sample of their work
is the unique roofing of the new catholic monastery Xenofontos
-The rise Vetrino: is found at a distance of half an hour by foot
south west of the village. Distinctive are the citadels deep fortification
cuts and ancient settlement. From the Vetrino (height 216m.) you
have a unique view of the whole area, from the Toroneo till the
-The Tower: found at a distance 2,5km on the north east side of
the village. The journey can be done by car, on passable dirt
road. In the towers area was an important prehistoric settlement
that stretched on top of a rocky peninsula, similar to Toronis
Likitho. This settlement developed culturally during the classical
years, which must have been Sigos, from which the Sigitikos gulf
was named. Sigos must have been a Halkideon colony. It is mentioned
by Herodotus between the towns that were recruited by Xerxes.
After the Persian alliance. The residents took part in the colonization
of Olynthos , but later after the Nikea peace (421b.C.) they returned
and settled again on their land. From rough archeological observations
the town must have been alive during the Hellenistic years. From
the ancient town you can see well the podium stevedore on the
north shore of the peninsula.
During the 14th century found on the peninsula was the monastery
of Agiou Nikolaou of Hrisokamarou, which was a monastery dependant
on the monastery of Xenofontos. From the building complex saved
are the ruins of the tower (from which the area got its name)
and the foundations of cells on the crest of the peninsula. We
presume the village got its name from the monastery of Ag. Nikolaou.
-For those who love hiking, can walk the crest from the Vetrino
till the rocky mountain Vrahoto (height 492m duration of one and
a half hours walking), from the top they can enjoy the view of
the three peninsulas and central Halkidiki. In the middle of the
journey you will find the church of Ag. Georgiou, a beautiful
sample of popular architecture of the 19th century.
REMARKABLE BEACHES FOR SWIMMING: the Solonikiou (4km. towards
Pyrgadikia), Pirgos, Trani Ammouda( between ormo Panagias and
Pirgo), Ormo Panagias.
-27 July the festival of Agias Paraskevis. ( Lets mention that
Agios Nikolaos parish the church of Agiou Georgiou, but their
patron saint is Agia Paraskevi. They also honor greatly Agious
Theodorous, which they hold a festival for at Ormo Panagias church).
THE AREAS CHARACTERISTIC PRODUCTS : wine, honey, olive products,